Instant Jungle Oats

“Talking to myself and feeling old. Sometimes I’d like to quit; Nothing ever seems to fit; Hanging around, nothing to do but frown; Rainy Days and Mondays always get me down”

Paul Williams knew what he was talking about when he wrote these lyrics. Sorry to be so glum, but what else do you feel on a day like today – Rain bucketing down and it feels like we have had two Mondays in this week. Does anyone else who had to get up on Monday and go to work, then have the shortest weekend on the planet on Tuesday, only to get up again on Wednesday agree with me??? Totally not cool. It’s been the longest working week. And here we sit in our office chairs with coffee at the ready staring mindlessly at computer screens, waiting for the extra late arrival of those who are normally late on sunny days, strolling in an hour later than usual, happily discussing the various causes of their extra-lateness today. Did you hear about the cable theft? Wow, my train got stuck for so long….. Did you see how wet I am and I only have this pants on….I’m soaking wet…… yaddah yaddah yaddah Then it’s another hour of kitchen talk as they share the stories and make the coffees and the instant Jungle Oats…..why do they all seem to have special bowls….. It will be well past nine when they eventually put finger to keyboard. We all have them I swear – in every office. Rainy days…..Mondays…..don’t they get you down……….

LJ

